English

Baby 28 hrs old, Baby-Led Mother-Guided Latching

The baby starts searching for the breast. The mother guides him towards the nipple. The baby opens up fairly wide, but the mother does not bring the baby on as well as she could and the baby has a shallow latch. He should have more of the breast in his mouth. The baby is mostly […]

Really Good Drinking

This baby is drinking very well at the breast. The pause in the chin as the baby opens his mouth to the maximum, just before closing his mouth, indicates his mouth is filling up with milk; the longer the pause, the more milk the baby is taking in. Thus, it is obvious that the advice […]

2 Day Old

The baby in this video is only 40 hours old. Baby has a pretty good latch. Notice his chin is in the breast, his nose is away from the breast and he covers more of the areola with his lower lip than the upper lip. During the first part of the video, the baby has […]

Good Drinking

Note the position of the baby at the breast. Chin in the breast, nose not touching, baby covering more of the areola with the lower lip than the upper. An asymmetric latch. The pause in the chin as the baby sucks means the baby just got a mouth full of milk. The longer the pause, […]

Nibbling

This baby is eight weeks old and is doing almost no drinking, though very occasionally one sees a short pause in the baby’s chin. A baby who breastfeeds only with this type of sucking could stay on the breast for hours and still not get enough milk. Something needs to be done here and if […]

10 Hour Old Baby

This baby is only 10 hours old. Notice the asymmetric latch: chin touches the breast, but not the nose and the baby covers more of the areola with his lower lip than his upper lip. He is also tilted up somewhat towards the mother. He is drinking milk from the breast. You can tell because […]

Baby 28 Hours Old Assisted Latching

Shows latching on. Not perfect, but good enough. The mother had no pain. It did take two tries to get the baby to latch on, but that’s okay; there’s no point in trying to force a baby who does not take the breast to stay on the breast. It won’t work.

Baby Led Mother Guided Started Upright Left Breast, Latches

The baby starts searching for the breast. The mother guides him towards the nipple. The baby opens up fairly wide, but the mother does not bring the baby on as well as she could and the baby has a shallow latch. He should have more of the breast in his mouth.

4 Day Old After Tongue-tie Release With Compressions

The baby just had a tongue tie release. The mother is doing compressions appropriately. She waits to see if the baby is drinking or not (pause in the chin). If the baby is not drinking, she compresses, holds the compression until the baby stops sucking or stops drinking and then releases. She waits for the […]

Squeezing Nipple Demonstrating Difference Between Poor latch

When the baby latches on to the nipple only, he gets very little milk. When the baby latches on where he should, the milk flows rapidly.

Inserting a Lactation Aid

This baby needs to receive supplementation. It is best that the baby receive this via lactation aid because: The baby is still on the breast and breastfeeding. Babies learn to breastfeed by breastfeeding. Mothers learn to breastfeed by breastfeeding. The baby is still getting milk from the breast thus helping increase the mother’s milk production. […]

Not Yet Latching, Finger Feed to Latch

Finger feeding is to be used primarily to prepare a baby who does not latch on to take the breast. Note that finger feeding is done only long enough to calm the baby and to get the baby sucking well. This rarely takes more than 60 seconds. It should not be used as a method […]

Cup Feeding

A good alternative to the bottle. Particularly useful for the baby who is refusing the breast. Note that the baby laps the milk up with his tongue. One does not pour the milk down his throat.

Jiggling and Pulling

This is an older baby, about 3 or 4 months of age, whose mother’s production has decreased. See the information sheet Slow Weight Gain Following Early Good Weight Gain for some reasons this decrease in milk production might occur. Some of the reasons that may result in a decreased milk production include the mother’s using […]

Tongue–tie Release

A simple and quick procedure that can make a significant difference in breastfeeding success. The research supporting tongue-tie release is compelling.

Vasospasm Turns Pink

This mother’s nipples turn white after baby has finished feeding. They turn white for some time and then eventually turn pink again. This change in colour is sometimes accompanied by throbbing and burning in the nipples. This is often due to poor latching and/or a yeast infection.

Français

Le bébé qui boit très bien

Ce bébé boit très bien. La « pause » que l’on peut voir au menton lorsqu’il ouvre la bouche au maximum, juste avant de la fermer, nous indique que sa bouche se remplit de lait; plus la « pause » est longue, plus le bébé reçoit de lait. Donc, il est évident que « faire […]

Bonne tétée

Remarquez la position du bébé au sein. Il a le menton dans le sein, mais son nez ne touche pas le sein. La lèvre inférieure du bébé couvre plus l’aréole que sa lèvre supérieure. C’est ce que nous appelons une prise du sein asymétrique. La pause du menton du bébé au moment où il ouvre […]

Tétouillage

Ce bébé a huit semaines et ne boit presque pas. Il ne fait que tétouiller bien que, parfois, assez infréquemment, on voit une pause au menton. Un bébé qui tète comme ça pourrait passer des heures au sein sans recevoir assez de lait. Il faut faire quelque chose. Si on réussit une prise du sein […]

Bébé de deux jours de vie

Le bébé dans cette vidéo n’a que 40 heures de vie. Il a une prise du sein plutôt bonne. Remarquez que son menton touche le sein, le nez ne le touche pas et il couvre plus l’aréole avec sa lèvre inférieure qu’avec sa lèvre supérieure. Pendant la première partie de cette vidéo, le bébé fait […]

Bébé de 10 heures de vie

Ce bébé n’a que 10 heures de vie. Remarquez bien la prise du sein asymétrique : son menton touche le sein, mais son nez ne le touche pas et le bébé couvre plus l’aréole avec sa lèvre inférieure qu’avec sa lèvre supérieure. Il est aussi légèrement tourné vers le haut. Il boit au sein. On […]

Bébé de 28 heures; mise au sein assistée

Cette vidéo montre notre façon de mettre le bébé au sein. La mise au sein, la prise du sein, ne sont pas parfaites, mais assez bonnes. La mère n’a pas de douleur. Il a fallu deux tentatives pour que le bébé prenne le sein, mais ce n’est pas grave. Il est futile de forcer un […]

Bébé de 28 heures; prise du sein initiée par le bébé, guidée par la mère

Le bébé commence à chercher le sein. La mère le guide vers le mamelon. Le bébé ouvre assez grand la bouche, mais la mère ne l’amène pas au sein aussi bien qu’elle le pourrait et le bébé a une du sein peu profonde. Le bébé devrait prendre plus de sein dans sa bouche. D’abord, le […]

Mise au sein initiée par le bébé, guidée par la, à partir d’une position verticale

Lorsque le bébé ne prend pas encore le sein, ou le refuse carrément, cette technique peut aider à disposer le bébé à accepter le sein. Le bébé est peau à peau avec sa mère et il indique quand il est prêt à chercher le sein. Quand il commence à le chercher, sa mère l’aide en […]

Bébé de 4 jours post frénectomie, avec compression du sein

On vient de couper le frein de langue de ce bébé. La mère fait la compression du sein d’une façon efficace. Elle attend afin de voir si le bébé boit ou non (la pause au menton—voir les vidéos qui démontrent la pause ou son absence). Si le bébé ne boit pas, la mère comprime le […]

Différence entre une prise du sein superficielle et une bonne prise

Quand le bébé ne saisit que le mamelon, il reçoit très peu de lait. Quand le bébé prend plus du sein dans la bouche, le lait coule rapidement.

Insertion d’un dispositif d’aide à l’allaitement

Ce bébé a besoin d’un supplément. La méthode idéale pour le recevoir est via un dispositif d’aide à l’allaitement, pour les raisons suivantes: 1. Le bébé demeure au sein et continuer de téter. 2. Les bébés apprennent à téter en tétant. 3. Les mères apprennent à allaiter en allaitant. 4. Le bébé continue à recevoir […]

L’alimentation au doigt pour aider un bébé à prendre le sein

L’alimentation au doigt doit être employée avant tout pour inciter un bébé qui refuse le sein à le prendre. L’alimentation au doigt ne devrait durer que le temps requis pour calmer le bébé ou pour le réveiller. Cette méthode est efficace pour réveiller un bébé endormi. Cela nécessite rarement plus que 60 secondes. Cette méthode […]

L’alimentation au gobelet

Une bonne alternative au biberon. Particulièrement utile pour un bébé qui refuse le sein. Notez que le bébé lape le lait avec sa langue. On ne doit pas lui verser le lait dans la bouche.

Tirer, se tortiller au sein

Ce bébé est plus âgé; il a 3 ou 4 mois. La production de lait de la mère a diminué. Voir le feuillet Gain de poids lent après un bon gain au départ où se trouvent une liste de raisons pour lesquelles la production peut diminuer. Parmi ces raisons : la mère emploie une méthode […]

Frénectomie

Une intervention simple et rapide qui peut faire une grande différence au succès de l’allaitement. La recherche appuyant est convaincante.

Vasospasme

Les mamelons de cette mère deviennent blancs après la tétée. Ils restent ainsi pour un bon moment avant de redevenir roses. Ce changement de couleur est parfois accompagné d’élancements et de sensations de brûlure aux mamelons. Les causes les plus fréquentes sont une mauvaise prise du sein et/ou une candidose des mamelons.